Top 12 Films to Watch on Halloween

puke.jpg

What did you say about my mother? (10/2007)

Most of this list is pretty obvious, as every other website on the planet has posted damn near the same titles, but who cares. This is the list of films I am going to watch (or already have watched) around the Halloween season, and a quote that makes them so damn memorable.

  1. The Exorcist (William Friedkin, 1973) – “Your mother sucks cocks in Hell, Karras, you faithless slime.”
  2. The Thing (John Carpenter, 1982) – “We’re going out to give Blair the test. If he tries to make it back here and we’re not with him… burn him.”
  3. Friday the 13th Part 3 (Steve Miner, 1982) – “Well first we take our clothes off, then you get on top of me or I can get on top of you.”
  4. Frankenstein (James Whale, 1931) – “You have created a monster, and it will destroy you!”
  5. Texas Chainsaw Massacre (Tobe Hooper, 1974) – “My family’s always been in meat.”
  6. Nightmare on Elm Street (Wes Craven, 1984) – “He’s been in the John pukin’ since he saw it.”
  7. The Wolf Man (George Waggner, 1941) – “You’re the gypsy that’s been filling his mind with this werewolf nonsense!”
  8. Young Frankenstein (Mel Brooks, 1974) – “Are you saying that I put an abnormal brain into a seven and a half foot long, fifty-four inch wide gorilla?”
  9. Nosferatu (F.W. Murnau, 1922) – “It will cost you sweat and tears, and perhaps… a little blood.”
  10. Evil Dead II (Sam Raimi, 1987) – “Your love was a lie and now she burns in hell!”
  11. Halloween (John Carpenter, 1978) – “Death has come to your little town, Sheriff.”
  12. Child’s Play (Tom Holland, 1988) – “You stupid bitch! You filthy slut! I’ll teach you to fuck with me!”

What are you watching this festive season?

Author: bronsonfive

Film, movies, whatever.

10 thoughts on “Top 12 Films to Watch on Halloween”

  1. Good choice on NOSFERATU. There was a really great movie a few years ago starring John Malkovich and Willem Dafoe about the production of that movie. I can’t recall the title but it was funny and odd and I loved it.

    Also, you missed THE SHINING. You should have included that one.

  2. You’re talking about “Shadow of the Vampire”… I love that movie. It’s so great. And no, I didn’t forget The Shining. In fact, I just watched it the other day. It certainly is one of the most horrific films ever made, and definitely deserving to be on a list like this, but I opted not to include it so I can put others no one ever considers. The Shining is just one of those films you automatically watch this time of year, it doesn’t need to be said.

  3. I wanted to see nosferatu. Here are some other good ones:

    Evil Dead 1 – a classic
    The Shining – another classic
    The Entity – woman gets raped by spirits. hardcore style
    1408 – I liked this one. Pretty creepy. Has Sammy J in it..
    The Omen – creepy ass kid

  4. Evil Dead 1 also has the “rape-by-tree” scene which is pretty classic.

    And I am really surprised by your excitement for 1408. I hated that fucking movie. It was fucking boring. Being a fellow pessimist, I expected more out of you…

    And Psycho is another that goes without saying. I actually just had the pleasure of seeing it on the big screen a few weeks ago… blew my fucking mind all over again.

  5. I didn’t think it was that bad.. but it can’t really compete with the others I listed.

    Oh BTW: I don’t recommend seeing 30 Days of Night. I didn’t think it was worth it, but then again I usually go for the mental scares rather than just pure gore.

    Josh Hartnett is too much of a pretty boy fairy to play a sherrif as well.

  6. here’s my list of halloween faves:

    Rosemary’s Baby-classic and cool, satan kids are always cool

    Saw- any of them. the story is great and the graphics make me want to puke. win-win all around

    Nightmare on Elm Street-Dream Warriors-one of the funniest of the bunch, and Dokken sings the theme song. Gotta love that!

    The Shining-still one of my absolute faves!

    haven’t seen Rob Zombies version of Halloween yet, would like to check that out.

  7. Rob Zombie’s Halloween isn’t worth seeing. It was pretty bad. And by pretty bad, I mean fucking awful. He took everything Carpenter did right and anally raped it.

    Dream Warriors is fucking classic. I love the wizardy kid. And Patricia Arquette in her prime. Delicious.

  8. Zombie’s Halloween was awful, it’s a forgettable little movie.

    Great list, Michael. Yes, obvious choices, but who cares? It’s a great list.

Leave a Reply

