The time of misery is upon us…

I love the winter time. Even though I live in Florida, and winter is pretty much non-existent, I still enjoy those few days of the year when the temperature goes below 90 degrees. In 2006, I went to the Sundance Film Festival in Utah. It was January and the weather there was awesome. Every minute that I wasn’t at a screening, writing, drinking, or sleeping, I was outside enjoying the 10 – 20 degree air. Some thought I was crazy but cold air seriously rocks my balls.

With it, however, comes the holiday season. Christmas, Kwanzaa, Hanukkah – all that bullshit. Everyone gets happy all of the sudden, like their lives only make sense this one month out of the year.

I walk around the mall now, before Thanksgiving is even here, and I see lights and giant red balls hanging on trees. Soon, I’ll see Mr. Claus bumbling around. When will January be here? Not soon enough.

snowman.jpg

Santa and Frosty (11/2007)

Author: bronsonfive

Film, movies, whatever.

4 thoughts on “The time of misery is upon us…”

  1. I live in new england now but i’m originally from NJ.. and its alright when the summer ends and it gets cooler.. but shit when its 20 degrees outside that fucking sucks. I prefer 50-60 degree weather.

  2. As an eskimo from Canada-land, I grew up with the “6 month winter” type-deal;..it’s a little less intense with global warming (am I saying I like global warming? No that’s bad..global warming is poo), but I do miss the full on Autumn-season, which has kind of melted away in recent years…

    PS: I don’t know WTF is up with all these “fahrenheit” degrees and what they all mean, but I prefer cool weather that is 10-15 degrees Celsius, whatever that means or doesn’t mean to you fuckers…lol.. ;-)

  3. of course winter can’t rock your world, cause that would be so unoriginal.

    People actually dont get all happy during the holidays. That joy and cheer isn’t from the common folk. The merchants are the freakishly happy ones.

    Studies indicate that people tend to get depressed around the holidays; they get the “winter blues” or “seasonal affective disorder.”

    http://www.usatoday.com/news/health/2005-01-28-winter-blues_x.htm

    The holidays annoy me. Every year the decorations come out earlier and earlier & many comedians point it out–and yet nothing is done about it.

Leave a Reply

