For Heath Ledger: Why not Britney Spears?

I am not a religious man. Nothing has happened in this life to lead me to believe there is some spiritual being out there, assisting our lives and what not. In fact, based on what I’ve experienced in life, there is nothing that’s happened that has even come close to making me think of something other than what is right here in front me.

And yesterday, with the passing of Heath Ledger, these feelings remain true. Ledger, a 28 year-old actor, was found dead in an apartment in New York City. He was never one of those annoying kids on the cover of every tabloid. He never got arrested for a DUI like so many other young celebrities. This kid was the shit.

Anytime you saw a movie with Heath Ledger in it, he stood out. If it was a bad movie (*cough A Knight’s Tale *cough), his greatness allowed you to forget its cheese. Even his brief role in Monster’s Ball, one of the most depressing movies ever, hit you in the gut like Alec Baldwin on coke.

And now he is gone, for no real reason. Yet Amy Whinehouse and Britney Spears live on. Lindsay Lohan will probably get another DUI, maybe even kill someone, while Ledger’s kid will grow up fatherless. We continue losing greats while being stuck with the leftovers of celebrity fame. Further proof that there simply is no justice in the world after all.

I raise a drink in Ledger’s honor, and even spill some for my homie Brad Renfro. You kids sleep well; maybe I’ll see you sooner or later.

ledger.jpg

The Last Joker (1/2008)

Author: bronsonfive

Film, movies, whatever.

10 thoughts on “For Heath Ledger: Why not Britney Spears?”

  1. I was thinking the same thing – why NOT Britney….? I don’t want anyone to DIE by any means, but people like her and Amy have one foot on the grave and the other on a banana peel…..crAAAAAAAAAAp!

  2. I’m not into voting replacements into death, but it does suck he had to go. For some reason, I’ve been thinking about it a lot more than I usually would. Normally, I say something like “oh man, so and so is dead? That sucks”, and that would be the end of it. I probably said that when I heard about Ledger, but it’s stayed in the forefront of my brain all day, and I’m kind of neutral on the guy.

  3. That is a lovely tribute, and a beautiful picture to match (and only you could make the scary version of “Heath the Joker” into a beautiful image)…I wouldn’t expect anything less from you :-)

  4. Well said Bronson5. I totally agree. And I agree that Lohan will probably kill someone one day. It was a bummer that Heath Ledger died. I liked him. He never bugged me.

  5. Cheetah: Yeah, I bet Britney will out live all of us.

    Trex: Same here dude. It’s been stuck in my head for days.

    Romi: You shouldn’t hold any expectation of me because someday, I’ll probably disappoint ;)

    Abarclay: He never bugged me either. That’s what makes it so shocking.

    Joebecca: Hey lady… where you been? When you coming home?

  6. I was so pissed when I heard about Heath Ledger’s death. And the first fucking thing I said was “See? It’s the quiet ones you need to watch out for. No coke binges, no media highlights, just some quiet anxiety and depression. He was on the same goddamned medication I decided was too shitty feeling. That’s fucking scary. If it had been Britney Fucking Spears, not one single person would have been surprised. And the world is just WAITING for Amy Winehouse to kick it.” It’s so unfortunate. And here’s the kicker: why the fuck is Brit more popular anyways? I mean, even before her scary-ass stunt pulling. She’s never had talent, and this kid fucking did. Ugh! Such a waste. I raise a drink as well, kudos to all the talented characters out there who shuffled their mortal coils a bit too soon and left us with the dregs of pop-princess media. Cheers!

  7. unseen forces do not assist the living. unseen forces conspire for and against the (mis)fortune of the living, especially the human living. they might throw a crunchy treat your way when they think you deserve it, but they’ll just as easily drop a harmonium on top of your head just for kicks. to see how you handle it.

    That all the good ones either die in their prime (James Dean), in a freak accident (Aaliyah), a tragic accident (Adrienne Shelley), or before they’ve really turned their potential to kinetic energy (Heath Ledger), that a lot of bad ones never die (criminals and tinseltown folk and drunk drivers alike) implies to me some kind of organization rather than just pure chance, random occurrence.

    On the other hand, a lot of good ones die after having lived a very long and successful life: Fred Astaire, Gene Kelly, Katharine Hepburn, Audrey Hepburn, Toshiro Mifune, Kurt Vonnegut…(i cant think of any singers for some reason).

    if, in fact, there werent any unseen forces–If, everything is just cause-and-effect and nobody’s got your back and nobody’s even messing with your mind for fun, would you want to keep existing? would there be a reason (frankly, practically speaking)?

  8. I raise a glass also, in honor of Heath and Brad, and find myself wondering the same thing. I’m also wondering lately when Amy and Britney went completely color blind, or is really really bad the look they are going for? What a shame.

Leave a Reply

