Who buys CDs anymore?

Seriously. I know only a few friends of mine who still actually spend hard earned coin on CDs. I do. Even when there is only like $13.83 left in my bank account… I’ll probably spend that on a CD. That’s just how I roll.

There is something about a CD, or even a record, that gets me a little wet. The cover art, the smell, the photos, the lyrics printed, even the shiny disc. I like that shit. That magic doesn’t come from iTunes or downloading music for free.

Plus, I really like albums as a whole. I don’t just want to hear some shitty single on the radio. I want that and more. You can’t say you’ve heard a song until you’ve heard it in the context of the album. Artists write/make music with that in mind. A song is only a piece of the puzzle.

I asked my students one time what their favorite album was. They had no idea what I was talking about. Anyway, here is a list of the past 5 CDs I purchased lately, in no order at all:

1. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz

Everything the YYYs did right with their last whole album (Show Your Bones) and EP (Is Is) has been wiped free from the slate. This new release is poppier, dancier, and less care free. The result doesn’t make a better listening experience, as I’ve given it two whole listens by now and I can’t say I am going back anytime soon.

2. Dan Auerbach Keep it Hid

The lead singer of The Black Keys does the world a solid by releasing his first solo album that is just about as good as any album the Keys kicked out. It’s a lot more bluesy than most but that’s what makes it so special. This is definitely a good bar album (to rock with brews).

3. Weezer The Red Album

Despite the fact that this band has been dead to me since they reformed in 2000, I can’t help myself from buying their albums every time they spit one out. After their last monstrosity (the Rick Rubin produced Make Believe), I wanted no part of them. But this album was a bit of a surprise. I think I may be alone when I say this but it is definitely their best release since the immortal Pinkerton. And the sad thing is, I actually spoke a lot of shit about this record upon its release. How the tides has turn.

mayfield

Jessica’s Owl (4/2009)

4. Jessica Lea Mayfield With Blasphemy So Heartfelt

Probably the most girly album I own, aside from some Norah Jones albums, but one you should seek for those not-so-happy days. I heard her on the last Black Keys record and it was enough to hunt this down. It was definitely worth it.

5. The WalkmenYou and Me

Not quite as effective as their last effort but still a decent enough one to merit a listen or to. This time the boys have calmed down a bit and worked a bit on their Bob Dylan impression. That doesn’t make it sucks.

**

Now if only Eminem’s new album would hurry up and get here. That would probably give me something to talk about, especially considering his last album wasn’t a very funny joke. I also need a new Clutch album…

Author: bronsonfive

Film, movies, whatever.

9 thoughts on “Who buys CDs anymore?”

  1. ha, my boyfriend likes buying CDs and even some records, I can’t rock that because it would cost too much. But yes, I can’t listen to an album in pieces, most albums are written that way to tell a story, if I love the album enough I try to disect the meaning of it into how I interpreted it. In rainbows has probably had the biggest effect on my life(album wise) I spent a week crying!!

  2. Buy CDs? Fuck I download everything. I may buy a movie now and again, but like I’m talking, I haven’t bought a DVD in a few years.

  3. I’ve been thinking about buying the YYY cd. I’ve only heard a couple of their songs. And The Walkmen’s “We’ve Been Had” is one of my favorite songs. It is nice to see another Walkmen fan!

  4. Sammy: If you buy any YYY CD, get Show Your Bones. It’s their best effort.

    462: Thank you.

    Kerplar: I am old school son. I like having a whole room of my house dedicated to the storage of mass media.

    Evidentress: Music by way of LP or CD is the way of the past, which is better than the future. iPods are gay, and I am the biggest Apple fan in the world.

    Shweta: That’s what music was made for. Keep fighting the good fight.

  5. Yeah, when I was a kid I just bought 45’s–I didn’t begin to appreciate entire albums until I was in my twenties. I started with The Cars–still one of my favorite bands. Now I’ve got hundreds of albums, but can’t play them because my turntable no longer works–and nobody sells turntables anymore, to my knowledge. At least I’ve got my CD’s though–I’ve got a few hundred of those–all kinds of music from all over the world. My tastes change constantly–always have. For several years I only listened to Eastern music–Indian ragas (Ravi Shankar), Pakastani Qawwali (Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan), and Arabic improvisations and songs.

    These days, I listen to Western music music again–particularly filmscores/soundtracks. Generally, I rotate among “Interview With the Vampire”, “Unbreakable,” and “The Dark Knight”–occasionally detouring to The Doors, Talking Heads, “Chants of India” (yes, I realize that’s Eastern), etc. But I always return to the filmscore of “The Dark Knight”. Ironically, I’ve never seen the film. I just picked up the score at Barnes & Noble, about two years ago, gave it a listen, and was hooked. And the funny thing is that I don’t want to see the film, until I am absolutely sick of the score–which could take years!

    When I listen to music, images stream through my mind, “videos” MTV could never even come close to–even when MTV was creative (in the 80’s). I’ve always been this way. So I’ve built-up images of my own for “The Dark Knight” filmscore. And if I were to see the film, its images would conflict with mine, and I’d be confused as hell! But I can wait. From what I’ve heard about “The Dark Knight”–it will still be a hit in twenty years, or so!

Leave a Reply

